ACTION ALERT! Protect Local Franchising


(From Media Policy Blog)

The cities, the towns, and the counties are joining forces to let Congress know that you can't take local control of the video franchising process or network neutrality away from the American people without a fight. So go ahead Congress, watch these bills go over the same way FCC ownership deregulation did in 2003.

From the website of the National Association of Counties:

Call the House Energy and Commerce Committee

The U.S. House Energy and Commerce Committee will be considering legislation that would strip local governments' authority to enter into franchising agreements with new video providers and possibly terminate existing cable franchise agreements.

It is very important to call members of the committee ASAP.

Majority Members
Joe Barton (R-TX) Chairman
Ralph M. Hall (R-TX)
Michael Bilirakis (R-FL)
Fred Upton (R-MI)
Cliff Stearns (R-FL)
Paul E. Gillmor (R-OH)
Nathan Deal (R-GA)
Ed Whitfield (R-KY)
Charlie Norwood (R-GA)
Barbara Cubin (R-WY)
John M. Shimkus (R-IL)
Heather Wilson (R-NM)
John Shadegg (R-AZ)
Charles W. “Chip” Pickering (R-MS) Vice Chairman
Vito J. Fossella (R-NY)
Roy Blunt (R-MO)
Steve Buyer (R-IN)
George Radanovich (R-CA)
Charles F. Bass (R-NH)
Joseph R. Pitts (R-PA)
Mary Bono (R-CA)
Greg Walden (R-OR)
Lee Terry (R-NE)
Mike Ferguson (R-NJ)
Mike Rogers (R-MI)
C.L. “Butch” Otter (R-ID)
Sue Myrick (R-NC)
John Sullivan (R-OK)
Timothy F. Murphy (R-PA)
Michael C. Burgess (R-TX)
Marsha W. Blackburn (R-TN)

Minority Members
John D. Dingell (D-MI) Ranking Minority Member
Henry A. Waxman (D-CA)
Edward J. Markey (D-MA)
Rick Boucher (D-VA)
Edolphus Towns (D-NY)
Frank Pallone (D-NJ)
Sherrod Brown (D-OH)
Bart Gordon (D-TN)
Bobby L. Rush (D-IL)
Anna G. Eshoo (D-CA)
Bart Stupak (D-MI)
Eliot L. Engel (D-NY)
Albert R. Wynn (D-MD)
Gene Green (D-TX)
Ted Strickland (D-OH)
Diana DeGette (D-CO)
Lois Capps (D-CA)
Mike Doyle (D-PA)
Thomas H. Allen (D-ME)
Jim Davis (D-FL)
Janice D. Schakowsky (D-IL)
Hilda L. Solis (D-CA)
Charles A. Gonzalez (D-TX)
Jay Inslee (D-WA)
Tammy Baldwin (D-WI)
Mike Ross (D-AR)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: