The P.A.T. Show and Why Public Access Matters


As I noted in an earlier post, I joined a panel of speakers on Thursday night in Roxbury for a program on BNN, called The P.A.T. Show, to discuss why Public, Educational, and Government (PEG) Access matters and how bills in Congress threaten the future of community focused media.

When Jason, Access Coordinator at CCTV, and I arrived at the studio, we found out that the show was going to be taped, not live. Jason also had to leave early and unfortunately he was not able to appear on the program. But, the show must go on!

Before we went on the set, Jason, Matt (Digital Media Coordinator at BNN), and I met with the host of the P.A.T. show, Ada Robinson (and member of the Boston Neighborhood Producers Group) and Sharyn Hinton, Ujima Scholars Counselor at The John D. O’Bryant African-American Institute at Northeastern University and former BNN City Place Studio Manager. We talked briefly about the format for the show and what each of us could speak about related to the issues.

When we walked on the set, we got in our seats, put on our lavalier microphones, and worked with the producer, Hiram Scott (BNPG) to make sure the sound, lights, and cameras were ready to go. It was my first appearance on public access. I admit that I was a little nervous! But, once the tape started to role and each of us introduced ourselves, I felt more at ease.

Sharyn, Matt, and I spoke with Ada about why public access and community media plays such an important role for people in our communities, against the backdrop of an increasingly consolidated corporate media system that continues to marginalize voices and communities in our local media. I quickly realized how important the program was, being able to practice my freedom of speech on TV and having the opportunity to share what I’ve learned about PEG access with others at such a critical time in the history of community media.

Sharyn was amazing and Matt did an excellent job! Ada was a great host and my overall impression was that the show went really well. I guess we’ll see this week, when the program is to aired on BNN. Hiram is working to edit the video and said that it should be ready to air this Wednesday 11 a.m. to 12 p.m. on Boston's cable access channel BNN-23.

We also hope to air the tape on CCTV, SCAT, and on other public access channels in other communities, as well. I also hope we can share the video through the ACMEBoston website, as well. I am so glad that I had the opportunity to participate in such an important program at such an important time, and I thank Matt for asking me to be involved.

Leave a Reply

